The Faculty

Founded in 2005, the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, is one of the most innovative and progressive faculties at Jan Kochanowski University.

In October 2015 the name of the Faculty was changed from Faculty of Health Sciences to the present one.

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences consists of 4 Institutes:
The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences offers programs in the Polish language in the following fields of study:
  • Medical studies (MA 6 – year studies)
  • Physiotherapy (Bachelor's degree 3-year studies)
  • Physiotherapy (Bachelor's degree 2-year studies)
  • Nursing (Bachelor's degree 3-year studies)
  • Nursing (2nd-degree 2-year studies)
  • Midwifery (Bachelor's degree 3-year studies)
  • Midwifery (2nd-degree 2-year studies)
  • Public health (Bachelor's degree 3-year studies)
  • Public health (2nd-degree 2-year studies)
  • Emergency medicine (Bachelor's degree 3-year studies)
  • Cosmetology (Bachelor's degree 3-year studies)
  • Physical education (Bachelor's degree 3-year studies)

The Ministry of Science and Higher Education, pursuant to the decision dated 30 September 2014, issued an announcement that the Faculty of Health Sciences fulfills the requirements to lead long-cycle studies of the practical profile in Medicine. We are a fully independent scientific and educational higher learning center with rich tradition, dating back almost half a century. The education of future physicians at Jan Kochanowski University is a continuation of medical training at Jagiellonian University Medical College- one of the oldest and most prestigious medical schools in Europe.

The Faculty and its academic staff of dedicated physicians and scientists are committed to excellence in education that places the student at the center of the learning experience supported by the up-to- date medical facilities and research laboratories. Our students are trained in teaching clinics within the Regional Hospital and Children's Hospital as well as the Świętokrzyskie Cancer Center. The Faculty has strong, supportive relationships with community physicians and hospitals throughout our region, and the students are thriving in a demanding curriculum.

The Faculty’s facilities feature state-of- the-art laboratory space and equipment including simulators to learn the practice of medicine. A modern faculty consists of Department of Anatomy, Department of Physiology, Department of Pathophysiology, Department of Surgery and Surgical Nursing, Department of Anesthesiology and Intensive Care as well as Emergency Medicine, Phantom workshop and many others.

The Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences has its own educational laboratories and learning spaces dedicated to the specific areas of medical studies:

  • Anatomy
  • Nursing
  • Midwifery
  • Medical Simulation Center
  • Medical Information center,
    as well as a number of specialist laboratories and instructional facilities such as:
  • phantoms
  • operating room
  • pathology
  • diagnosis
  • General medicine
  • physiology
  • pathophysiology
  • the animal room
  • microbiology
  • histology and embryology
  • cytophysiology
  • clinical immunology
  • emergency medicine

The Faculty's clinical base comprises clinical branches and clinics selected for their significant experience in patient care as well as for providing a wide range of medical services. In recent years, both the Regional Hospital and the Świętokrzyskie Cardiology center have been expanded. There have also been upgrades and changes in the Department of Cardiac Surgery and the Świętokrzyskie Cancer Center.

Pre-clinical science courses are offered in cooperation with:
The Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Students complete their course work in such laboratories as Laboratory of Electron Microscopy, Molecular Biology, Medical Physics, Molecular Physics, and the Institute of Microbiology as well as the Institute of Biochemistry and Genetics.